“The Day Nazis Stopped me at a Checkpoint”

“It was 1944 and I was a 9-year-old girl at that time. My father was in the forest tearing down the trees and preparing some wood for the winter, that seemed to be long and very cold. I went to grace the sheeps we had near our house and in the afternoon my mum asked me to go and bring some lunch to daddy and to my old brother. Once taken the horse out of the stable and linked the cart, I put the lunch next to me and I started riding, direction the village and its forests. It was late afternoon and my dad and elder brother should have come home with me, once it would have started getting dark. On my way to the woods, one of the neighbourghs warned me that some nazis troops were in the village, looking for men and wanted to arrest them. Panic! Panic everywhere! Above, under, near, in front of, behind and inside me! piazza roma

What would have happened if the nazis have found daddy and my elder brother? They would have surely arrested them, if not killed! I had to do something but I was just a little girl! What could I do? Fortunately, the old neighbourgh suggested me to warn my dad and help them go home through another way, on the opposite hill. At the entrance of the village (see photo here) in the first main  square and along the boulevard, nearly fifty nazis stood there, motionless, their gaze lost I-don’t-know-where. They stopped me but as I didn’t speak any German and they knew just few words in Italian, and most important I was just a child, they didn’t grind on and leave me going.

Once I arrived where we had that plot of land, I immediately warned my daddy and brother. In half an hour, they start packing their stuff and they hid in the forests, just another hundreds of partisans, waiting for attacking the nazis.”

 

My grandmother keeps telling me this story and I keep listening to it with great interest, but especially very thankful that so many people during those years put their lives into danger to give us the opportunity of being free. We have been blessed because we live in a free country, doesn’t matter how corrupted and full of hipocrisy it is. We had been given this great gift of being free from the oppressor, of saying what we think, of praying the God we believe in, of being who we are now. And somebody believed in the dream of a free nation and fought for a better, free, independent, world in peace. And every year, this day, people throughout Italy remember this important day.

 

Check these articles and videos:25-aprile-2012-festa-della-liberazione-d-italia-da-67-anni-nel-cuore-degli-italiani-1

The front page of 25th April 1944

Festa della liberazione

Why the 25th April

La leggenda del Piave (a song usually played to remember this day)

 

Enjoy and remember that you should probably thank somebody for what you have today.

Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

