Goodbye University, Hello “Work World”

Today, I can put a big END sign on a big chapter of my life. University is finally over (for the moment) and it is time to take a big step into the world of the adults. Work is no more an option (at least for me), but a necessity and a way of starting getting on our own feet, I guess. Managing a limited bugdet that you earned with a lot of effort (and I also mean that pocket money we earned at high school for babysitting, tutoring younger students, working weekends as waiters etc.) is something you have to learn along the way. There was a funny picture the other day on the internet of a little girl crying when she realises the wallet is empty. I sometimes feel the same way when I worked for weeks and all I have got is few pounds to spend.

The good side of getting a job (if we want to find one) is then being able to manage all the aspects of your life: economically speaking, you start learning how to organise yourself to arrive “at the end of the month” (as mum always tells me) with what you were given, you learn that you can’t have everything you want, that paying the rent and the bills is more important than spend all your money on going out (which is not something we need to delete from our list of pleasures, but maybe reduce a tiny bit if we can’t afford it) and so on. I am so glad mum and dad taught me all those things: to know how to live and be content when we have plenty and when things are tights.

It makes me appreciate more what I do to earn it. And that leads me to another thought that I sometimes find hard to explain to people: because you have to work (almost) all your life, better to do something you like, even if it is not a profitable earning. I find it more gratifying to do a lower-payed job that I like than to earn hundreds of thousands of pounds but going struggling to go to work, because I hate the job I’m doing.

People often say I am too picky on jobs, but come on! I had to study hard most of my life so far and I do not know what waits for me over there, so why do I have to dream low? Why setting for things that I do not like from the start? Why not dreaming big and look for jobs that safisfy me personally before my wallet? I might be wrong, but that is how I want to live: who cares about the money, if you are not happy!

money does not buy happiness

You can only become truly accomplished at something you love. Don’t make money your goal. Instead, pursue the things you love doing, and then do them so well that people can’t take their eyes off you (Maya Angelou)

 

Leave a Reply

